Mobile Menu - OpenMobile Menu - Closed

Georgia's 5th Congressional District

Downtown Atlanta

Georgia's 5th Congressional District lies at the heart of Metro Atlanta, a thriving, growing region of more than 5.6 million people.  The district includes parts of Fulton, DeKalb, and Clayton counties, including most of the City of Atlanta.  Other cities included in the 5th District are Brookhaven, College Park, Decatur, East Point, Forest Park, Hapeville, Lake City, Morrow, and South Fulton.  

Atlanta is the capital of Georgia, the state's largest city, and the county seat of Fulton County.  Founded in 1837 as Terminus, and renamed Marthasville before becoming Atlanta, the city has long been considered the capital of the South.  It was the birthplace of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., and today hosts the Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historical Park.  The city hosted the 1996 Summer Olympic Games.

The 5th District includes Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport -- the world's busiest airport.  It is home to several world-class institutions of higher learning.  These include the Historically-Black Colleges and Universities of Morehouse College, Spelman College, Clark Atlanta University, Morris Brown College, and Morehouse School of Medicine, along with the Georgia Institute of Technology (Georgia Tech), Georgia State University, Emory University, Agnes Scott College, Clayton State University, and Atlanta Metropolitan State College.  The federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) are located in Druid Hills, in the DeKalb County portion of the 5th District.

Click here to browse district-specific population statistics from the U.S. Census Bureau.